Safe places

It’s recently come to my attention that people that know me outside the internet have found my safe haven. I’m not quite sure what to think of that. There’s a lot that I post here that I haven’t told them, things here that I would be afriad to say, and things here that I really don’t want to say to them. A lot of my friends are extremely understanding, and I wouldn’t have a problem with them reading what I write and think and feel. But there are others, who I sometimes feel like I have to hide from, who may judge, condescend and question. I’m not sure that I’m ready for that.

I can’t really do anything about at this juncture. I don’t want to move this blog or restrict access. I’ve found plenty of awesome feminist and feminist allies here on the internet, and I love that they can come here and I can go to their space too. I suppose then my solution, for now, is just to let the chips fall where they may. If it becomes a problem, I’ll be sure to notify anyone that wishes to follow me to somewhere new. If it does not become an issue, then look forward to more posts. I promised myself when I started this blog that I would not censor myself. It’s days like these that those promises are tested.

Posted on August 5, 2008, in Feminism, Ranting. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey Jenn your blog is educational. A huge part of that, for me, is your honesty and willingness to post about yourself. I think you’re right to be cautious though. Keep yourself safe, and if you feel the need to cool off because it’s going to impact on your real life, you could stick to the more abstract but equally potent political rants until you feel confident enough to expose your innards again.

    Whatever you choose to do, high fives all round, because it’ll be great.

    ps- hope it’s cool but I stuck you on my own blogroll. You won’t get much traffic from me but I reckon my mates’ll like you. I’ll happily take it off if you wish.

    A

  2. I’m glad you like it and that you’re supportive of all of it. Thanks for the blogroll, I like getting traffic from other feminist places!

  3. I second Eevoid’s praise for your blog and admonition to stay safe, however you must. At least one major feminist blogger is completely “comments off” so that she can say what she needs to say without trolls swamping her site. I support all my sisters in staying alive, saying their truths, and being safe.

Leave a Reply

