Confession: I kind of like Paris Hilton

No, really. I mean, the woman makes a living by going to parties. There has to be some brains involved in that. She’s also been surprisingly well-behaved since the jail time. I guess she doesn’t bother me anymore. She never really did, in any concrete way. Hollywood is full of shallow men and shallow women, so I always really thought of Paris Hilton as the same song-and-dance, albeit one that did not even have to be good at acting to rake in the cash. I never understood the hatred that others expressed for her. I’ll go down on record by saying that Paris, by no means, is feminist in the slightest. I never had the heart to think of her as anti-feminist though, simply because it’s quite rare that a woman can be anti-feminist. I reserve that title for scumbags like Phyllis Schlafly, Ann Coulter, Christina Hoff Sommers, Ayn Rand, and Kathleen Parker.

I was unaware that Paris had anything to do with politics until McCain issued this:

First, to McCain: really? Am I supposed to be impressed by this faulty logic? Of course Obama is popular, he’s running for President, nitwit. If he really wanted to, I guess Obama could attack you for being a household name too. Except, that’s kind of a stupid idea, because being popular when you are running for President is not exactly a bad thing, you know.

Apparently, Obama is popular in the exact same way Paris Hilton is. Oddly enough, for me, I like Paris more than I like Obama. Wait, what? I suppose this is because Paris Hilton is not threatening in the slightest, whereas Obama has the potential to run this country into the ground if he so chooses. Recently, I also get the feeling that Paris is more capitalizing on her popularity to produce satire of herself than actually being as snotty and stupid and others bill her as. This opinion is further cemented with fantastic rebuttal videos like this:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Yeah, this is scripted. Jokes about Paris Hilton’s intelligence aside, I have to give her the benefit of the doubt by saying that anyone that agrees to do such a fantastic video cannot be stupid. Furthermore, I kind of want that bathing suit. For someone that purposely says rather silly things on camera, Paris can, and does, sound like she knows what she is talking about. Even if she does not, at least she has the smarts to fake it.

I’m probably a bad horrible feminist for saying this, but my neutral feelings for Ms. Hilton have been transformed now into relunctant feelings of like. I can’t tell whether or not that is a good thing.

Posted on August 6, 2008, in Fuck America, Media, Offended White Men, Politics, Snark. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I think that it’s a very smart way to get back at McCain. It’s nice to see humor in politics. You may not like Paris, but this was a very interesting thing to pull off.

    On a side note, I would prefer to hear the candidates speak of real issues instead of playing around with who’s a celebrity and who isn’t.

  2. thebewilderness

    Given how many men have celebrity status for nothing more than being the children of the hyper wealthy, Steve Forbes comes to mind, I have always been disgusted by the treatment of Paris Hilton, and every other young woman who is mocked by the media for being the celebrity that they made her.

  3. God, me too. Oh noes, she’s young and sexually active and drinks a lot! If we were to toss out every single person in Hollywood that had substance abuse issues, liked attention, partied too much, and thought too highly of themselves, it would be a ghost town.

    It’s quite sad that little girls are idolizing her, but that’s hardly her fault really. If Paris Hilton went away, there would be hundreds of other sub-par role models to take her place. The impulse to drink, party, and cater to the sexuality of men hardly originated with Paris Hilton.

  1. Pingback: On Misogyny and McCain « Editorializing the Editors

  2. Pingback: Jack

  3. Pingback: Voices without Votes » Paris Hilton Ready to Lead America

Leave a Reply

