South Park… feminist?

South Park is my guilty pleasure. I remember turning the volume down really low at night so that I could watch it without my parents hearing. It was so deliciously foul—and it horrified my parents. What wasn’t to like?

Recent episodes have rekindled that warm feeling that deliberately foul and excessive toilet humor inspires. I thought that it really couldn’t get much better than when they parodied the bailout by turning the Treasury Department into a gaggle of idiots.

I suppose I was wrong.

For April 1, South Park released it’s newest episode, “Eat, Pray, Queef”. Which is exactly what it sounds like: 30 minutes of jokes about the sound air makes when it is expelled from a woman’s vagina.

In the episode, the men of South Park overreact to the queef, and the women in their lives that find it funny. Culminating in a Senate hearing in which a female senator queefs a monologue to Roadwarrior, the funniest part of the show was how my brother, who watched it with me, didn’t think queefing was as funny as I did.  It made him a tad uncomfortable.

Most astounding though, By the end, when the men ban queefing, one of the female characters has a monologue that is undoubtedly the most feminist thing I’ve ever heard on television, bar none. My jaw literally dropped. It wasn’t tongue-in-cheek, it didn’t reference bra-burning or any of the other anti-feminist bullshit memes.

Even more hilarious is how disturbed by the episode fans are on IMDb and elsewhere. I came across numerous posts about how queefs are “disgusting” (but apparently a talking piece of shit isn’t) and how vaginas are gross and look like “gun shot wounds”. Rather than just say that they didn’t like the episode though, numerous viewers gave it a 0/10 when asked. Me thinks this might be because they’re just mad that South Park pulled off a joke at their expense. I have to say, the reaction of people to this episode is even funnier than the episode itself. When pushed, the commentors will eventually resort to excuses such as “vaginas are gross” or “feminism is stupid”. Excuse me, wasn’t the point of satire to laugh at yourself? After being bogged down by the minuta of the bailout, an episode on how stupid it all was made me laugh at myself for taking it so seriously. Would it fucking kill people to laugh at themselves instead of other people? Apparently not. Which is extremely funny in a very dark way.

All in all, South Park still isn’t outwardly feminist, and still does have its problems (jokes about rape anyone?), but it was still the most feminist thing I’ve seen on television, for a general audience, ever. How sad is that? Even sadder, how many men are complaining on the IMDb boards about their butthurt that sexism isn’t funny? Way to get a joke, morons.

Posted on April 8, 2009, in Feminism, lol wut, Media, Offended White Men and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I laughed so hard at this episode that it nearly triggered an asthma attack.

  2. I watched this episode and i thought it was very feminist, as well.

    It’s sad that they were very ‘up’ on their presentation of the male viewpoint of queefs. I’m not quite sure about my wording here: but, to me it implies that a lot of males don’t approve of vaginas doing anything exept being there for them and that’s it.It also implies that women should be polite and publicly sweet and not do anything which might be anything close to humorous. Unlike farts which of course are funny and it doesn’t matter if women don’t think they’re funny.

  3. Aileen Wuornos

    That episode made me laugh so hard I queefed. Not really, but that would be fucking awesome. Queefing is pretty god damned hilarious.

    South Park is fucking awesome, I don’t have guilty pleasures, cos I’m too much of a hedonist :P
    I usually find their rape jokes mildly amusing, and that’s a big call from me, being a rape survivor, but then other times it’s like “oh fucking hell, shut up”. I think Stone and Parker did actually get it pretty spot on when they described themselves as ‘Equal Opportunity Offenders’

    anyone who takes acid and goes to a big an award ceremony in hollywood wins points from me anyday.

  4. If only they weren’t Libertarians.

Leave a Reply

